L&T is managed by a Board of Directors, which comprises democratically elected members. The Directors are responsible for the awarding of grants, the management of the funds and the operational activities of L&T.  Full details of exactly how Directors are voted on to the Board and what are their responsibilities are covered in detail in our Articles of Association.

Below is a brief summary of the responsibilities of a Director of L&T:

  • Attendance at Board Meetings and AGM
  • Ensure correct management of monies within the fund
  • Review of grant applications
  • Review of operational procedures and policies as appropriate
  • Directors generally serve a three year term

L&T annually accepts applications from its members who are interested in serving the community as a Director.

Each year  new member directors are welcomed to the Board at the AGM.

If you are interested in becoming a member or a Director or for more information please 


Current Directors

Below is a list of current Directors:.

  • Ian Giles – Thrumster

Ian is a retired consulting engineer living in Thrumster. He moved to Caithness in 1973. Ian is a founding trustee of the Yarrows Heritage Trust which was established in 2002 and also an Associate member of the Tannach and District Community Council and Thrumster Primary Parent Council. Ian is also a member of the Board of Northlands Creative Glass.

  • Catherine Macleod – Thrumster

Catherine trained as a Furniture restorer and maker then moved to Thrumster in 2000 where she helps run the family business at Thrumster Estate which includes B+B , self catering, farming and management.
Catherine sits on the board of Venture North , a tourism group promoting tourism for Caithness and Sutherland and is also on the board of the John O’groat trail, a coastal trail running from Inverness to John O’Groats

  • Andrew Gunn – Lybster

Andrew was originally appointed to the board of Lybster and a Tannach as a representative of Latheron, Lybster and Clyth Community Council. He is a chartered Health and Safety practitioner and is an active volunteer locally within the community. Andrew is no longer a member of the Latheron Lybster and Clyth community Council, but is still involved with the local community development company LLCCDC.”

  • Pat Hendry- Latheron

Pat was appointed Director in October 2017. Pat worked at Lybster Medical Centre for 26 years, latterly as Practice Manager. She is the treasurer of Latheron Hall and was involved in the fundraising for the new hall as well as overseeing payments to funding bodies who contributed. She is also a member of Latheron WRI where she has held various committee positions and is also a member of Lybster, Latheron & Clyth Community Council. Pat regularly helps local community organisations and charities with fundraising.

  • Ann Sutherland – Latheron

Anne was appointed as a director in October 2017.  She has lived in the parish of Latheron all her life and has always been an extremely active member of various community groups. Anne  is currently chairperson of the Latheronwheel and Latheron Improvement Group.   Anne is employed as Centre Organiser by Dunbeath & District Centre.

  • Maureen Coghill – Clyth

Maureen was appointed Director in April 2017, Maureen currently works for TSB as a Local Manager and has done so for over 30 years . Maureen  also work in the local Citizen Advice Bureau based in Wick  helping local people with a whole range of financial matters which she finds very rewarding . She has been involved with many local voluntary groups over the past 30 years and is presently  a member of the Latheron Agricultural Society committee. Maureen is  passionate about the development of our community and the people in it. She enjoys horse riding  and  walking, It is her view that we have some of the most scenic walks you can find anywhere in the country.

  • Harald Ramsoy – Mid Clyth